		i		-					
Provinces.	1884.	1885.	1886.	1887.	1888.	1889.	1890.	1891.	1892.
		 -							
Ontario	423 862 751 229	653	602	329 488 967 318	311 432 893 282	295 429 683 232	320 370 700 206	710	FB. (37)

175

182

304

411

.

224

291

398

397

5,460

264

220

380

366

1,600

229

337

330

342

1,483

298

199

380

341

1,337

300

153

351

826

373

262

177

362

656

430

NUMBER OF INHABITANTS TO EACH CONVICTION.

83

263

443

454

141

613

332

404

Manitoba.....

 $Territories \dots$.

British Columbia

Prince Edward Island.....

Average for Canada

1498. In Canada, under the Union Act, 1867, divorce is one of the subjects assigned to the Federal Parliament. As, however, some of the provinces had established Divorce Courts before Confederation, they have been permitted to continue the jurisdiction which was conferred upon their courts. These provinces are: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and British Columbia. A Divorce Court was first established in Nova It consisted of the Governor or Commander Scotia, in 1739. in Chief and the members of Executive Council. By Act, 1866. the Judge in Equity became Judge Ordinary of the Court. One of the assistant judges of the Supreme Court is now at the head The Court has jurisdiction to declare any marof this Court. riage null and void for impotency, adultery, cruelty or kindred within the prohibited degrees.

In New Brunswick, a Divorce Court was established in 1791, and consisted of the Governor and five members of the Executive In 1835 a judge of the Supreme Court was added, and in 1860 a Court of Divorce and Matrimonial Causes was created.

Prince Edward Island, in 1836, received a Court of Divorce, composed of the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

British Columbia exercises the power of granting divorces under an ordinance passed in 1867, after the union of the two colonies of Vancouver Island and the Mainland, which enacted that the civil and criminal laws of England, as they existed on the 19th November, 1858, were in force in all parts of British

For Ontario, Ouebec, Manitoba and the North-west Territories the Federal Parliament constitutes a Court of Divorce, proceedings being begun in the Senate, by arrangement.